I Got My Ps!

Posted on September 7, 2009

0


Ugly mugshot of Asian gangster.

Ugly mugshot of Asian gangster.

This is a special moment to savour. After being teased at and constantly being chauffeured around by mates and families for decades, I finally got my Ps.

At the grand old age of 30, I’m possibly the oldest new driver in circle of friends. Actually, let’s make that the oldest.

The tester was a good guy, definitely younger than me (who isn’t?!) and didn’t make me do cartwheels, perform a bunny hop or fire my rocket missile. As much as I really wanted to press the LAUNCH button, I kept my nerves and passed with no worries.

My instructor, who has been very patient with me all these months and taught me only good things, gave me a firm congratulatory handshake and said I can finally start looking for a car. Which is what I’m definitely looking at into this week. Of course, no prizes for guessing who I’m not buying from.

It’s all a little surreal at the moment. My peers have all been driving for many years, some even for over a decade. I know I still have a lot to learn, as driving is all about experience. That counts.

I’m just going to take it all in, change out of my jeans, pop myself in front of the telly and get on my PS3.

