I Am Now Debtless (Sort Of…)

Posted on January 13, 2010

0


The card for Myer-holics. I wasn't. Fail.

Hi, I hope you are all well.

I’m not much of a New Year resolutions kind of person, but I like starting a new year with new, healthy habits. Not just body health-wise, but healthy in every sense of the word,

Three years ago, it was quitting a ten year smoking obsession as I was harbouring a desire to propose to then-girlfriend Michele. I didn’t want my wife and children to grow up in a smoking environment, so smoking went out the window.

I then went without any resolutions, flying below the radar and generally was quite well behaved. Barring my one little boo-boo – I got my first credit card and went a little silly with expenditure. Bad move.

Granted, it was only a $500 limit and I found it helpful to pay off our home renovation costs. But I took so long to pay them off – I was mostly jobless in 2008 – I copped the bad end of a lousy credit rate for over a year. Come to think of it, what was I thinking?! 19.99% for a $500 limit? And it only had an average reviews!

Fast forward to 2010 and my finances have stabilized. My home is renovated (mostly) and I paid off all my debt. For some reason something propelled me to call up the credit company and once they have confirmed I no longer have any debt, I cancelled the card.

I am now debt free!

It feels good to not pay a minimum sum each month. No more late surcharge. No more extra paper bills. No more “Oh no not another bill!”. No more extra plastic in my wallet.

I am lighter and I am definitely richer!

That is, until I find a better credit card with a better rewards program and lower credit rate!

Remember: Credit cards are evil!

Image from http://www.iwantacreditcard.com.au

