The Fortnightly Belly Show – Episode 10 (week 34)

Posted on February 8, 2010

0


I can’t believe it myself, but my wonderful fortnight series has now reached double figures. Which only means Michele and I don’t have long to go before Baby arrives.

Speaking of not having long to go, Michele is absolutely hanging for Baby to pop. They say every woman is different and deals with pregnancy with various degrees of difficulty. I’m only a first-time father and I know bloody nothing about it but I daresay Michele’s copping it like a real trooper.

Oh it’s not always easy. Mobility is an issue, and so is Baby’s incessant poking and jabbing and kicking at Michele’s belly. Sometimes, Michele’s face contorts and moans in pain as Baby’s nimble limbs start exploring the boundaries of a womb. Poor Michele. But what’s a husband to do?

The belly button now resembles an inverted crater. I’m reminded of the nuclear bomb testings the American government conducted in the Nevada desert. Show an expert a picture of Michele’s belly button and those scientists will be hard pressed to identify which explosion that was!

In the next fortnight I’ll also begin to pack some essentials in an overnight bag for the inevitable drive to Frances Perry House. I’ve been doing a lot of reading and everything seems to point at what to bring for the mother-to-be. Breasts pads, maternity pads, toothpaste, toothbrush, a change of clothes etc….but what about the bloke?! The father-to-be?!

Zilch. Nada. Zero.

But more on that when I start packing. It will be an interesting experience. I’ll be packing for a trip that has no definite starting date. Woopeedoo!

