Levi In 30 Days (Part One with Video)

Posted on April 17, 2010

2


Good morning everyone. I truly hope you have all been well.

My son – all dirty nappies, breastmilk feeding frenzy, 3am cries for freedom and inappropriate farts – turns one month old today.

A month may have gone, but Michele and I have encountered and quite possibly climbed what was a very steep learning curve of a mountain. We had no expectations or reservations; we knew as much as all new parents did and just did our bloody best.

They say the first weeks are the most testing. They weren’t kidding. Our sleep patterns are all out of whack, our brains are fried and we look like robots who are in desperate need of a software update.

Don’t listen to what other people say.

“I can’t believe my child has grown so quickly!”

“My beautiful baby…how time flies!”

I call their bluff. Time goes by really slowly. Especially when it’s Groundhog Day with the same routine each day and night and constant supervision is required.

But what a month! We have experienced joys and emotions as new parents and an occasional sigh of frustration, but it has only added to the entire parenting experience.

Here’s a recap of what Levi has been up to in the past 30 days. To the best of my memory I tried arranging them in ascending order, so the first picture is from Day One, and the last is Day 30.

Two days old and I'm being introduced to M&Ms!

Two days old and I'm being introduced to M&Ms!

The first few days of my life in Frances Perry House were memorable. Particulalry when Daddy has a tendency to fall asleep when he's holding me.

The first few days of my life in Frances Perry House were memorable. Particulalry when Daddy has a tendency to fall asleep when he's holding me.

Back at home. Daddy sleeping on the job is definitely a common theme here.

Back at home. Daddy sleeping on the job is definitely a common theme here.

Eight days old. Check me out...I'm so cool I'm just chilling.

Eight days old. Check me out...I'm so cool I'm just chilling.

I'm very adorable when I'm awake. Which is like, an hour each day?

I'm very adorable when I'm awake. Which is like, an hour each day?

I'm extra adorable when I yawn. Life is SOOOO hard!!!

I'm extra adorable when I yawn. Life is SOOOO hard!!!

I like breastmilk from the local milk bar. It's free, it's always open and the lady boss is always so courteous and polite!

I like breastmilk from the local milk bar. It's free, it's always open and the lady boss is always so courteous and polite!

'Sup homey! Where's my Special Handshake?

'Sup homey! Where's my Special Handshake?

I don't know what you're looking at, but whatever you want, I don't have!

I don't know what you're looking at, but whatever you want, I don't have!

Getting acquainted with members of the opposite sex.

Getting acquainted with members of the opposite sex.

Continued on Levi In 30 Days (Part Two).

