Drunk Lady Insists We’re At Fault! How Dare Her…

Posted on October 20, 2010

1


Hi, I hope you’ve all been well.

I spent the greater part of last week – four out of five working days to be precise – commuting to work by train. It was rather refreshing to take Melbourne’s much lampooned (and maligned) public transport system. It was a nice change of scenery but after a couple of days I was reminded again why I hated Melbourne anachronistic piece of white elephant.

I won’t launch into a bitter expose on the state of the system as that’s another story altogether. I was however, itching to get back into Thumper to commute to work.

After four cold and lonely days in one of my insurance’s recommended car repairers, Thumper finally came back into my family’s loving embrace.

But what a crock those four days was! The lady who reversed into me maintained her innocence right up to the day I picked up Thumper and I had to speak with the bloke who was processing my claim in great detail to finally get any relief out of it.

It’s severely depressing and stressful to be in a situation where you may have to fork out the excess when it’s no fault of yours. I haven’t been driving for long – less than 13 months – and I’m still currently on an ‘Inexperienced Driver’ excess so that’s additional excess I had to stress over.

The lady had the luxury of not taking any blame as her Mazda 3 wasn’t damaged. Not a single dent in the rear.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And the damage? I was quoted over $3,000 worth of damage and labour and thankfully on the day I picked it up, the insurers still stood by me and were of the thought any cars who reverses and hits anyone or thing is liable for damage.

Nice one. This, and on top of every other incriminating evidence from the images I provided.

I’m just glad it’s all sorted out. With Thumper back in the garage that means we can have family outings again.

Now all I wish for that cocky lady is an increased premium for her next year and cops to bust her for drink driving. I didn’t do it the day it happened, but I’m sure one day her time will run out.

