The Problem With Childcare

Posted on May 14, 2011

2


Hello, it’s been over a week. I do hope everyone is well.

I only have good intentions with this post, and I will represent most if not all parents when I insist childcare is a bit of a win-lose situation and then some.

problemwithchildcare

Fun and games. Just don't bring back them germies!

It’s win-lose in the first couple of weeks when the parents are able to show their bloody face at work to please the boss, but completely lose-lose when they are infected with some weird virus passed on to them through their child.

The innocent child is obviously at the mercy of other children, who arrive at childcare in the morning with every known disease known to man.

This is often exacerbated by the staff – who all have good intentions, don’t get me wrong! – who often run out of resource or forget some instructions and the children are all losers.

The statistics aren’t a pretty read. Michele has since gone back to work for three months and Levi in childcare, two.

Out of the last two months, Michele has had to take at least three weeks off to nurse our really sick boy and I too had to use some carer’s leave.

To compound matters further, Levi infects either Michele or myself with a cold or flu virus every so often.

I seldom get sick. Rarely, in fact. I did not take a day of sick leave in 2010 because I was generally healthy.

Since Levi began childcare, I’ve already taken two days off.

Currently I’m nursing a virus that inflames my tonsils (swallowing sandpaper anyone?), a violent cough and a brutal cold.

Talk about wrong timing too; we’re still a month away from winter and it’s bloody zero degrees overnight.

A quick check with other parents suggest they feel the same. In an ideal world none of them would send their children to childcare but their career/job beckons.

I too, have a career I’m pursuing and I simply cannot to slack if my dreams are to be fulfilled. Less so Michele, who would rather spend time at home all day everyday with Levi.

However with the increased cost of living in Melbourne, a single-income family is highly unsustainable and Michele is forced to work.

It’s now 7am in the morning and I’m done venting. I need an outlet.

Now if you’d excuse me I have got another violent coughing fit to attend to.

