A-B-C-D-E-F-G!

Posted on July 14, 2012

0


I spend a lot of my ‘free time’ at home staring at my laptop. So much so Levi has associated one end of the dining table as ‘Daddy Chair’.

The Curious Mr Moo loves wandering over to me to check out what I’m doing.

Most times I’m running multi-billion offshore operations and shipping my income to tax havens in Europe. Levi would approach me either from the side or under the table, so my eagle eyes would spot him approaching from far and a quick Windows Key + M eliminates any chance of me getting caught.

Unfortunately, some times I fail to notice his arrival and he spots me punching out long paragraphs on the Word. He would insist on sitting on my lap to assist with my work.

It wasn’t long before I realised Word is an excellent tool for Levi to learn his ABCs and numbers. He’s fully capable of reciting the alphabet and counting to 14.

Me: “How many birds do you see on the tree Mr Moo?”

Levi: “1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 14! 14! 14!”

Me: “Darling what comes after 14?”

Levi: “14! 14!”

As often as I am able to – and when Levi’s not fixated to High 5 or Timmy Time on the television – I’d let Levi sit on ‘Daddy Chair’ or on my lap while he punches out letters and numbers.

My mother-in-law commented how kids these days are getting started on computers at a tender age these days. I can’t disagree with that. My first exposure to a computer was at the age of 14 in the early 1990s. Those days a computer was a luxury and 14.4 kbps dial up modem was the norm.

Kids these days. I digress…

Levi and I would spend about 15 minutes each session hunting for letters and numbers.

Me: “Levi, where’s the number 1?”

Levi *scans the keyboard*: “There!”

Me: “Nawww. That’s the letter I.”

We have also realised Levi is unable to recognise letters in small cases as he’s been shown capital letters all this time. This leads to some funny comments, courtesy of Mr Moo.

Me: “What comes after the letter N?”

Levi *scans the keyboard*: “Baby O!”

Me *laughs*: “That’s the number 0 darling, not the letter O.”

Levi: “Baby O! Baby O!”

Oh the joys of parenting. =)

